SCVAL Belief Statement for the Student/Athlete

Athletic participation is in place to enrich the mental, physical and emotional well-being of all student/athletes by providing competitive opportunities through which the lifelong values of sportsmanship, individual effort, teamwork, dedication, integrity, and total commitment are emphasized.

Originally established in 1973 the SCVAL consisted of 13 schools;

Awalt, Buchser, Cupertino, Fremont
Homestead, Los Altos, Lynbrook
Monta Vista, Mountain View, Peterson
Santa Clara, Sunnyvale, Wilcox

In 1974 the league split into two divisions; the De Anza League (DAL) and the El Camino League (ECL). Over the course of the last 30 years the SCVAL has undergone many changes:

- In 1976, Saratoga transferred from the West Valley Athletic League (WVAL) to the DAL.
- In 1981 Sunnyvale closed its doors and St. Francis joined the Girls Division.
- Around 1982, Mt. View closed and took up where Awalt was housed.
- Also around 1982, Santa Clara did the same by replacing Buchser.
- Circa 1983, Peterson was turned into a Middle School.
- In 1988 Los Gatos joined the DAL
- In 2002 St Francis left the DAL to join the WCAL (West Coast Athletic League).

Today, the league is a 14 school super league with Boys and Girls teams divided into two leagues (or divisions). The DAL (strong) and El Camino (weak) leagues are different for every sport within the SCVAL.